About the Commission

The Wetumpka Planning Commission was created by an ordinance of the City Council on April 20, 1950, as authorized by Section 11-52-2 Code of Alabama 1975. The Commission and is responsible for preparing a plan for the city, adopting regulations concerning the subdivision of land and standards for required infrastructure improvements, and advising the City Council on zoning districts and the permitting of conditional uses.

The first work of the Commission included signing a contract with the State Planning Board for assistance in completing a study of major streets, traffic, and preparation of subdivision regulations. According to Elizabeth Porter's A History of Wetumpka, Mrs. W.A. Edwards had the honor of being the first woman in the State of Alabama to be chairman of a municipal planning commission.

The Commission consists of six volunteer members appointed to staggered six-year terms, the mayor or his representative, a council member, and an administrative official of the city.

The current members of the planning commission are:

PositionNameTerm End
Place 1Clyde BaileyNovember 2023
Place 2Jim ForresterNovember 2024
Place 3Ed DykesNovember 2019
Place 4Jaynne D. GilbertNovember 2020
Place 5Justin EdwardsNovember 2021
Place 6Jamnes HamnerNovember 2022
Mayor/Mayor's RepresentativeJohan Beumer (Chairman)November 2020
Council RepresentativeLynnes JustissNovember 2020
Administration RepresentativeJ. David Robison, Planning and Program DirectorNovember 2020

The Planning Commission meets in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 212 South Main Street, at 5:30 p.m on the second Monday of every month except on holidays observed by the city. See the calendar for rescheduled dates.